• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.
So where are the New York and London clubhouses? Where is the library stocked with dusty old tomes of occult lore? Where is the drawing room with its high backed leather seats and cigar lounge where one can discuss the arcane and pass the port? Where can one get a CFI tie, pocket watch and a central meeting place for all eminent Forteans on both sides of the pond?

What's wrong with a pub back room, a few pints of bitter, a plate of pickled eggs and the latest FT?

I'm a poor student!

Ian

Doctor Gateau said:
So where are the New York and London clubhouses? Where is the library stocked with dusty old tomes of occult lore? Where is the drawing room with its high backed leather seats and cigar lounge where one can discuss the arcane and pass the port? Where can one get a CFI tie, pocket watch and a central meeting place for all eminent Forteans on both sides of the pond?
Let's get this done, people. Anyone know an eccentric billionaire?

Wow, just the description of that conjures up brilliant images. Right, someone either has to seduce, con, become or befriend an insanely rich person, then we can all lounge around in dark red smoking jackets with cigars and decide to go on an expedition at the drop of a hat.

There must be a celebrity or business mogul with an interest in the arcane. Maybe more than one. Has anyone asked??
Eventually a Collection of the Curious may materialise, featuring many curiosities from around the world open to the paying public on certain days becoming a London and New York tourist attraction in its own right, with its own secret collection in the basement for the initiates, the Forteans who have access thanks to their annual subscription. Clever use of budgeting can bankroll Yeti-hunting expeditions ready to fill the empty glass case in the hall.