• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

What do you think is the most likely ?

• The Ripper was a Freemason?

Votes: 7 9.7%
  • The Ripper had medical knowledge?

Votes: 10 13.9%
  • It was Maybrick?

Votes: 4 5.6%
  • The Ripper was 'of the same class' as his victims?

Votes: 9 12.5%
  • The Ripper was foreign?

Votes: 2 2.8%
  • It was Druitt?

• None of the suspects yet put forward?

Votes: 17 23.6%
  • It was a woman?

• Another?

Votes: 19 26.4%

• Total voters
This was a middle-aged, derelict Victorian prostitute. She might well have used a hessian sack as a shawl.

maximus otter

So everybody can have a gander:

Eddowes-Shawl.jpg2A615A7400000578-3155348-image-a-4_1436472755195.jpg

I'm no expert on women's accessories, but seven-foot long does seem rather lengthy.

Edit: Just checked: 24 inches by 71 inches.

I'm no expert on women's accessories, but seven-foot long does seem rather lengthy.

from back of neck. over shoulders, and, in some cases, down to almost the ground over a long and full skirt (even the not-full poor ones take up space!)...

Some of my wraps, shawls, scarves, stoles are over 8' :)

Edit to add that I'm 5'5" which is probably tall for a poor victorian female, but hardly of giraffe like proportions.

Last edited:
Yes, someone could have used a tablecloth as a shawl - but it's unlikely.

somewhere in contemporary literature there is a description of a woman having a shawl which usually drapes over the piano - and is worn on posh occasions :)

Yep, Victorian-era shawls could be quite large squares, since they were often worn instead of coats and jackets.

Curious that in the geo-profiling, they left out the Ghoulston Street graffito.
One would have thought that would have a major bearing on the potential home range.
Other than that, I've have always had a belief, since reading Sugden in particular, that Tabram was victim number one.