• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Blaming Cryptids For Crimes & Other Incidents

Colin Sprague

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
Hello All!

I am a developing producer working on a new project for Discovery and Animal Planet that would investigate crimes where either a cryptid may have been involved, or the defense blamed the crime on a cryptid/mysterious animal. As someone who knows only a little on the subject, I wanted to reach out to see if anyone knows any stories or crimes over the last 200+ years where a cryptid was or may have been involved? The most famous example of this is the Dyatlov Pass mystery (https://en.wikipedia...v_Pass_incident), but we are open to investigating any crime or accident that may have been caused by a cryptid. Our hope is to find evidence in episode that could point to cryptid involvement in these crimes.

Thank you in advance for you help!

The Beast of Bodmin Moor springs to mind - a large cat responsible for killing and mutilating livestock.

Hi,

If you're after the last two hundred years, there's a lot of cases from the early Twentieth Century. You won't find any evidence though because they're just stories, but there were the supposed spate of killings in what was then Tanganyika by the Mngwa or Nunda. A large grey leopard like cat.

Several men were supposedly killed over the course of a few nights in a coastal town while guarding a market place. The man who brought the story to the attention in Europe was Captain William Hitchens. Described as a colonial administrator of some sort. This guy also claimed to have encountered half the mystery beasts of Africa at one time or another.

He also claimed to have had his dog taken by the 'Chemoist'. Known by many names, but most commonly the Nandi Bear, this cryptid has had many deaths attributed to it.