• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Extensive / Focused Consumption Of A Particular Food Item

rynner2

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
Experience: I've eaten only crisps for the past 10 years
'When my son was five, I bought a packet of barbecue-flavoured crisps and that was it: I was in love'
Debbie Taylor
The Guardian, Saturday 12 February 2011

I'm not a fan of the cooked meal. I'm much happier with Monster Munch crisps – beef flavour; I wouldn't touch pickled onion. When I open the bag, I check if they have enough beef coating on them; if it's not enough, I'll throw them away. Sometimes there's a nugget of pure beef flavouring at the bottom, which is delicious. You could say I'm a connoisseur.

I've been eating two family-size bags a day for two years, and little else for the past decade. My shopping trolley looks as if I'm having a children's party. The idea of eating anything else is repellent; I don't like being full and bloated, which is how "proper food" makes me feel. I have a tea for breakfast, skip lunch and then I'm ready for my first large bag of crisps at around 4pm and my second bag at 8pm. During the day I'll have a few cups of tea and sometimes a cola. I don't get ravenous because my body is used to it after all these years.

The only time I'll eat anything else is a family meal at a restaurant. Then I'll pick at a piece of dry chicken and a morsel of bread, just to stop people nagging at me.

I've always been a fussy eater. I can remember my mum trying everything to get me to eat healthily, cooking spaghetti bolognese and chopping up veg, which I refused to eat. She finally said, "If you don't eat that, there's nothing else." "Fine," I replied, "I don't want anything."

etc...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/ ... -ten-years