• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Search results

1. M

Texan Monster Spider Web

I see a similar thing every autumn. It seems that all the baby spiders pick a few days to leave home and set up their own webs and the fields I walk through are completely carpeted with teeny webs. It's a beautiful sight in the early morning with the sunlight catching the dewy webs (as I...
  2. M

Ageing & Growing Old

This is one of the things that preoccupies me about growing old. As you get older, the number of things you do for the first time gradually gets taken over by things you do for the last time...I was thinking about this the other day as I ate some of my favourite food (delicious seasonal...
  3. M

Words and Phrases from Industry and Science

Eeee, I remember back when I was a student nurse, on placement in a neurosurgery ward. I thought it would be hilarious to say "Come on, it's hardly brain surgery" to the surgeons when they were talking about complex procedures. I must have used that phrase (or variants of) every day for 2...
  4. M

Dangerous Dogs

Just personal experience but I have never ever met a staffie that wasn't gentle and friendly. I've never seen one get into a fight and all the ones I've ever met have been really over-the-top soppy. My own dog is (most likely) a little bit staffie and he's the least aggressive dog you could...
  5. M

Freaky Video

All the clips are pretty obvious fakes but it still scared me even though I watched it in daylight. EDIT: Yes! The underpants are the best bit. I nearly fell off my chair laughing.
  6. M

"Mysterious" Infrastructure Objects

What's even more suspicious is that he followed me home and is currently pretending to be asleep in my back garden. :sceptic: (the dog, not Frobush [as far as I know :o])
  7. M

Oh yeah. Good point. :oops:
  8. M