• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Bleeding Tree

goblin47

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
Hi, a story about a tree so hope it's in the right forum.

I'm a tree surgeon/feller and a few years ago now I was called to look at a tree in a local cemetery. The cemetery supervisor said the tree had developed some lumps and could I go check if it was diseased or whatever. When I arrived at the tree, it was a silver birch, it did appear to have lots of raised areas or lumps on it. After a visual inspection I took my pocket knife and pierced one of these lumps and yes blood seeped out. The tree bark was also not as white as it should have been but was a dirty brownish colour. I can only think that the roots had taken up blood/fluid and were transporting it round the tree. Was a bit weird and the tree eventually deteriorated so we took it out.

Right forum or not (and I've always understood the categories to be fairly elastic and porous, so I shouldn't worry too much over that) that's a curious tale right enough, thanks for sharing it. You say you work as a tree surgeon - is it safe to assume that this was the only time you've ever encountered a silver birch displaying these symptoms? Can you remember much about the other trees - if any - in that part of the cemetery - did you take a look at them, as well? Were there other silver birches that had not been similarly afflicted (or, indeed, other trees that had been)? What led you to the conclusion that it was actually blood and not some other red fluid seeping out?

Hi, a story about a tree so hope it's in the right forum.