• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Christian Bitcoiners: People Led To God By Crypto

EnolaGaia

I knew the job was dangerous when I took it ...
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
This is one of the strangest paths to personal revelation I've ever heard ...
The People Who Are Finding God Through, and in, Bitcoin

Tomer Strolight had never believed in God, but in 2013, he discovered Bitcoin.

He was immediately fascinated. “The more I studied it, the more I realized that this is an incorruptible system,” he says, “that this is a system that has justice built into it through math and truth.” And the more Strolight—who is 52 years old, lives in Toronto, and now works as a Bitcoin educator—learned about Bitcoin, the more he became convinced that the world’s first cryptocurrency was not solely the work of man. “This is the genius of God,” he says.

That’s why, on a recent spring day in Miami, Strolight decided to get baptized. ... Strolight’s faith in Christ was resolute. Through Bitcoin, he had found God.

Earlier that day, Strolight was part of a panel of converts who had found Christ through crypto. That panel was part of the first annual conference for Christian Bitcoiners, Thank God for Bitcoin, whose attendees included a prolific writer on Bitcoin with more than 300,000 followers on Twitter, the founder of the now famous Bitcoin Beach, and Tim Tebow, a devout evangelical and former professional football player. Authors of the book Thank God for Bitcoin organized the conference.

As the price of Bitcoin has crashed more than $40,000 in the past year, at times down more than 70 percent from its peak value, some have prophesied the death of crypto. Perhaps there is no better rebuttal to these predictions of cryptocalypse than this sect of Christian Bitcoiners, whose crypto-conviction echoes a more familiar, unshakeable religious faith. ...