• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Crabbus Man: My Investigation Into A Local Horrific Cryptid Legend

Burgric

Fresh Blood
My hometown, Maldon, is regarded as the 'most haunted town in Essex', UK. Much of the architecture is at least 300-400 years old, with one pub, the Blue Boar Inn dating back to the 1350s. It is no surprise that there are numerous supernatural happenings and stories around the district, given the ancient history of the place.

On a ghost walk some five or so years ago I learned about one such folk tale, that of Crabbus. I was a university student at the time, visiting home for a short break and staying with family.

The ghost walk tour guide took our group all over town, recounting several morbid tales before ending the tour at the Hythe near promenade park, Maldon's largest attraction, where he recounted the brutal and tragic tale of Crabbus. Below is an image of the Hythe near the prom.

PICT2538.JPG

Maldon's promenade park is situated on the river Blackwater, in Saxon times known as the Panta. The estuary snakes eastward towards the North sea, flowing past Northey and Osea islands on its way as seen below.

Osea_Area.gif

As you can imagine we have a lot of mud, the perfect environment for a half-man, half-crab horror. The tour guide regaled that Crabbus was born to a unnamed townswoman of Maldon in the 1800s, and upon being delivered was deemed too offensive to nature to be allowed to live. The baby was taken to the river by the mayor to be drowned.

Another speculation is that the baby was the illegitimate offspring of the town's mayor, a surplus motivation to rid of the child beside its offensive appearance. When the mayor, standing in the shallows of the river, lowered the baby into the water to drown it, the child slipped away and out of his hands before any such wrong could be committed.