• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Etiquette Question

oldrover

Justified & Ancient
I have a slight concern about what's OK and what's not in a paper. I'm in the position where I (we) have evidence which is fairly game changing in our own little area, but there's been another paper published recently which thought the same thing. Trouble is the other paper is bluntly awful. Quite honestly every point raised is easily disproved, it's genuinely unbelievable. I'd ignore it but the thing is, it presents evidence which I have to refute in order to adequately present mine.

I'm new to this obviously and I just don't know how to proceed for the best. Kill all of it, which takes about 800 words, which seems excessive in an 8,000 word piece that covers a lot of ground. Also it might come across as a bit gleeful. Strangle the salient points, but there aren't any so I can't get a handle on it. Disprove some of it, but then that doesn't seem adequate somehow. I don't know, but I don't want to come across like Father Ted making his Golden Cleric speech. Any advice gratefully taken.

What's the politics? What are the likely ramifications? Who are you going to piss off and what is their influence? Who can u trust to ask advice? What's in it for you?

Good that u are thinking about this.