• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Fab Functional Form: Engineered Aesthetics

Fender Stratocaster vs Telecaster.
While I know many guitar players who like both I've always felt the Tele looks like an unfinished Strat.
jtIFKyp.jpg

Just need to have it sitting on the back seat of a 68 Mustang :cool:
7xCv7Zv.jpg
Three beautiful examples. The only hideous Mustang is the awful Mk 2, which nearly destroyed the band. Oh and the one my wife had. But she replaced it with a 4 litre Jeep Wrangler Sahara so that was OK.

I've met a surprising number of lead guitarists that stick up for the Telecaster - I'd have thought the Strat beat it hands down in all respects, but what do I know? I'm only a bassist.

Isn't it primarily in the eye of the beholder though?

To many people, the old 2CV was plug-ugly, but I fell totally in love with its relaxed curves and whole retro vibe:

View attachment 30306

Whereas to me, the ugliest and most unlikeable car I've ever owned was a Volvo 244, which I only bought because a FOAF was offering it very cheap.
Very heavy fuel consumption and utterly charmless.

View attachment 30308
Agree with both. The 2CV has good proportions, the Volvo is shaped (and drives like) a brick.

Interesting things certainly emerge, especially around wheel diameter and headstock position, when you superimpose a golden ratio overlay on a picture of a Norton ES2, centring it as best you can on the front and rear wheel spindles (bearing in mind that the bike was not exactly side on in the photo)...

I wouldn't be at all surprised if the the GR had been very deliberately used in the design: artists, architects, engineers and designers have been consciously referring to it for centuries.

One of the things it offers is the opportunity of limits. (In fact, one classic reference book on the subject is entitled The Power of Limits.)