• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Heol Fanog

Mighty_Emperor

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
It came up in another thread:

http://www.forteantimes.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=243

Hermes said:
Quite a well known case that features an 'entity' that would be familiar to the witness posters here is the case of Heol Fanog, Wales (can't remember where, exactly. Brecon, I think). It's been featured on the BBC's Out of this World, and is the subject of a book, Testimony, the details (i.e. ISBN/publisher) of which I can find and post if anyone's interested.

eccentric said:
I would be interested in reading this .

but rather than send that thread off topic (and pos. requiring it to be split) I thought I'd start a new thread.

From the authors site:

I am a writer of fiction. I am comfortable with creating the fantastic in my head. I am also, by trade, a journalist, steeped in that profession's culture of cynicism, used to operating in that grey, mundane world where everything has a rational explanation. So when I first encountered the Rich family and Heol Fanog, their picturesque house deep in the Welsh countryside, I approached their tale with a healthy scepticism. Yes, strange, inexplicable things did happen in the world. But their story was too unbelievable - too terrifying - to be true. The truly horrifying, on a spiritual level, only happens in novels.

What you are about to read is not fiction. It is fact. Then again, we are told there are no facts - just different perspectives of the same view, subjective, coloured by personal beliefs, doubts, fears. Yet when two of those perspectives are aligned, we start to get closer to the heart of the matter. When three, four or five are in tune we can be pretty sure we have got as close as we can to the truth of an event.