How Would A Gold Currency Actually Work?

INT21

Antediluvian
This is aimed mainly at Mike Fule as it he seems to be pretty knowledgeable.

Assuming the paper money fails.

You have a gold ingot. 100 Gram. with a current value of £1000. (But the paper actually is worth nothing)

So you go into a shop and want £100 Pounds worth of groceries.

How do you pay ?

You would be relying on the shopkeeper giving you the balance back in gold.

i.e he has to give you 90 gramms of gold.

How will this work in practice.

And how will the echange rate be worked out. There has to be one.

James_H

And I like to roam the land
I'm no expert but I'm fairly sure in the past they used to make them into smaller bits of gold, i.e. coins and the value basically correlated with the weight.

maximus otter

Recovering policeman
Don't buy gold ingots, buy gold wedding rings. They could be used to buy supplies, or clipped easily to "make change".

Big advantage? If civilisation falls over and you try to bribe the militia with a gold bar, you'll just get a knife held to your throat to induce you to part with the (presumed) others. No-one would suspect that you have more than one wedding ring.

maximus otter

AnonyJoolz

Captainess Sensible
Don't buy gold ingots, buy gold wedding rings. They could be used to buy supplies, or clipped easily to "make change".

Big advantage? If civilisation falls over and you try to bribe the militia with a gold bar, you'll just get a knife held to your throat to induce you to part with the (presumed) others. No-one would suspect that you have more than one wedding ring.

maximus otter
This is one of the reasons that south Asians 'invest' quite heavily in gold jewellery, usually pure 24K stuff. Wearable, easily transferrable money if needed.

maximus otter

Recovering policeman
Some of the gold coins were designed to be broken into smaller pieces I believe.