• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

I Was A Ghost Club Investigator

Archaeoastronomer

Junior Acolyte
When i was 20 i joined the Ghost Club and trained to be a paranormal investigator, which was approx. 45 years ago, i joined on 25th April 1977, and took my training seriously, which was to look for all other reasons for paranormal activity before reasoning that it could not be explained.
The Ghost Club alleges it is the oldest paranormal organization in the world, perhaps it is, as Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle had been members.

https://ghostclub.org.uk/

My membership letter is below on link:-

https://files.abovetopsecret.com/files/img/vt5bb659d0.png

At the time i lived in a suburb of London called Enfield, i studied my instruction in how to become an investigator and was a junior and part of team that investigated a very frightening case.
Below is a very old passport showing me at twenty, and that i was born in Enfield, but as my memory goes back to April 1977, i had no idea what was going to follow in the Autumn of that year, it still gives me chills and i can't explain it:-
https://files.abovetopsecret.com/files/img/pw5bb65a13.png

Hi Sollywos,
Yes you are right, for many years i didn't want to remember my experience, and it was my first case as a junior after i had been taught as an investigator.
It was a few years ago i noticed Guy Lyon Playfair had died, i hadn't contacted him in years, but i was involved with him all those years ago, i was more attached to Maurice Grosse, as we both lived in Enfield, he died in 2006, so it seems i'm one of the few witnesses left to the events at 284 Green Street Enfield, a suburb of London.
Both Maurice Grosse and Guy Lyon Playfair were members of the Ghost Club in 1977 and the Society of Psychical Research (SPR), i was only a member of the Ghost Club,
The obituary is below:-