• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Live Toads Found Entombed In Solid Substances

A

Anonymous

I'm a newbie on the Message board, but have been getting FT since the '70s.
My interest for years has been the entombed toad phenomenon, and I'm still on the lookout for any reports from the past.
In recent years there has been a dearth of such tales, but just recently there was a story of a live toad found sealed in a can, and I read on the web an article about a series such tales.
I'd be interested to hear people's thoughts on such stories of entombed animals, and to hear of any cases people have come across, especially from the press.

Well, one question about teleportation is what would happen if you teleported into solid rock. I imagine this might have something to do with that. Some sort of time-space teleportation explaining finding dinosaurs and such entombed in rocks and lochs.

There is a saharan frog that can hibernate for 9 years. perhaps it has something to do with this. Perhaps other frogs can do the same and are just not using it unless living in a dry place. Imagne if you had a frog hibernating next to a stalagmite. Of course they seem to have been found in solid rock, formed over long periods of time a long time ago.

maybe they have been sent back from the future and ended up materialising in rocks and the like. it is cheeper than sending real people back to start with dont you think?

or maybe theres a reasonable explanation for it

cas

There have been all kinds of explanations for the reported stories which occur from over 700 years ago up to the 20th Century.
Some earlier authors thought they were evidence of the supernatural or demonic, and certainly there are reports of superstitious beliefs connected with the stories.
Spontanoeus Generation was another popular explanation in earlier ages (that toads, like other creatures and vermin were formed from mud etc.).