Mondegreens

EnolaGaia

I knew the job was dangerous when I took it ...
Staff member
I was a teenage rock musician back in the Olde Daze (1960's), and we often had to resort to deliberate 'mondegreening' when capturing indistinct lyrics in the course of working up covers of new hits.

The situation wasn't so bad during the early 'British Invasion' era (1964 - 1965) because vocals were usually recorded distinctly enough to isolate and decipher. It got a lot worse in subsequent years (e.g., 1966 - 1968), mainly because:

- Once rock became an industry the recordings were being generated as fast as possible, and audio precision often suffered;

- The trend toward louder, heavier, sonically-innovative 'psychedelic' (etc. / whatever) stylings tended to de-prioritize having a clear vocal front and center; and

- The lyrics simply got stranger and stranger, to the point it was anyone's guess what the singer was saying.

I recall the early Spencer Davis Group hits being particularly undecipherable. The very muddy bass-heavy mix, combined with Winwood's soulful slurrings, made it impossible to pin down what the lyrics were.

We had to completely give up on I'm a Man, and ended up writing out a set of phonetically-analogous gibberish which our lead singer was forced to memorize. This approach became our fall-back tactic on many songs throughout the late 1960's.

It would be years before I finally learned what Stevie had actually been singing.

Side Note: Yes, we did Hendrix covers, but we never had any problems understanding the lyrics in his recordings. I don't remember anyone misinterpreting 'kiss the sky' as 'kiss this guy' back in the day - not even as a joke.

Mythopoeika

I am a meat popsicle
Inside a starship, watching puny humans from afar
Side Note: Yes, we did Hendrix covers, but we never had any problems understanding the lyrics in his recordings. I don't remember anyone misinterpreting 'kiss the sky' as 'kiss this guy' back in the day - not even as a joke.