• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Prisoner Cell Block H (Making Gunpowder Inside A Cell)

A

Anonymous

I seem to remember reading somewhere that it's possible to make gunpowder using only the ingredients available in your average prison cell or dungeon. I can't remember the specifics but I think it involved getting phosphorus from wall slime and something else from the cement (as you may be able to tell, i'm no scientist) Does anyone know if this is possible, and if so, should we be worried about any practically minded young scientists currently paying their debt to society?

Well gunpowders made of carbon, sulphur and saltpetre (potassium nitrate). I seem to remember reading that you could scrape one of the later two off a cell wall but I think it was refering to a medievel dungeon type affair rather than wormwood scrubs.

Pow!

After having googling for this, I expect the men from the guv'mnt to be around soon. I may be gone some time.

Jane.

Just tell them you are trying to light your bbq. lol

That would also explain any bottles of liquid oxygen you might have lying around. (Can't remember the link to that site.)

You can get phosphorous from detergents (laundry powder, bathroom cleaner, etc), but I suspect these things are controlled by the authorities for that reason. (Or they may only use detergents that don't have any phosphorous in them.)

I thought this thread was going to be a review of the Australian soap-opera.

you get it from chemical fertiliser, the sale of which is restricted, especially in NI IIRC.

I was thinking in terms of where you could get it in a prison. I doubt (or is that "hope") that phosphate fertiliser isn't used in prisons. In terms of dollar value, though, it is a cheaper way of getting your phosphorous.