• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Protecting Ashkenazi Jewish Magic: Preservation Through Storytelling & History

ramonmercado

CyberPunk
Preserving the olg Follore and using the beliefs in fiction.

Protecting Ashkenazi Jewish Magic: Preservation Through Storytelling and History
Gavriel Savit
Tue Mar 2, 2021 12:00pm

... I, however, am more concerned with the things that didn’t make the crossing.

There were many—all the secret recipes, all the art and artifacts. An entire architectural style was lost: the wooden synagogue, often highly figured and beautifully adorned. Perhaps a handful of examples remain in the world, and most of them are replicas.

If it was Jewish and it could burn, then they burned it.

I mourn the loss of the synagogues, of course, of the artifacts and recipes, but in the end, I am not an architect, or a chef. I’m a writer of fantasies.

What keeps me up at night is the loss of Jewish magic. And I mean this literally.

It’s sometimes hard to communicate to non-Jews the degree to which Jewishness is not just a religious identity. Founded as a nation roughly three thousand years ago, before the concepts of ethnicity, worship, and nationality were tidily separable, we are a people—a civilization more than anything else. The most traditionally observant Jews will persist in identifying people born to Jewish mothers as Jews even as they practice other religions and renounce the Jewish God. There are even Jewish atheists—a lot of them.

Our religion is submerged, then, in a thick broth of associate culture, and that’s why, despite the fact that the Hebrew Bible clearly prohibits the practice, we can still discuss Jewish magic just as easily as we can discuss Jewish atheism: it’s very clearly there.