• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Psychological / Psychiatric Oddities

MachineElf

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
In my journeys, I spent some time doing fieldwork in parapsychology, and it really hit me how incredibly specialized this field is. It's useful to know about psychological oddities, because they provide an alternative explain for some paranormal claims.

I am hoping that others will contribute their experiences or knowledge to this thread.

For example, I met someone with alien hand syndrome once. It was quite a serious issue. His hand kept putting itself on the oven hotplate, undoing his buttons, and attempting to choke him.

He thought the aliens had taken control of his arm and was highly distressed, as he had no conscious control of what was happening.

As it turned out, he'd had a stroke.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alien_hand_syndrome

When I studied Neuroscience, one of our modules was abnormal neurobiology, which was the most interesting lectures ever. The few cases that I remember where [all mini-stroke related]:

The man that saw his wife in the garden, then in the garden in two places, etc until he saw "lots of his wives" like a series of stills all the way into the living room. This was a stroke in the occipital lobe where movement is processed.

Another of my favourites was the man on the train with a lady holding a white poodle on her lap, when after a while, he saw the poodles head everywhere where there was a face [instead of the persons face], this was down to a stroke that happened where our face recognition is and she probably had looked at the poodles face when it happened.

The others are capgrass syndrom but they have been discussed somewhere else on the FTMB. The two above were my favourites.

Dingo667 said: