• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Romans In Ireland

A

Anonymous

I'm an archaeology student at Queens University of Belfast and we just had a lecture by a Richard Warner from the Ulster Museum. We've all seen the stories of archaelogical discoveries being covered up or lost conveniently or supressed to avoid having to re-write the history books, and i can confirm that it happens all the time. Even in Ireland theres a fairly big one happening right now. It was always assumed the romans extended the Empire into england and wales and stopped at Scotland and avoided Ireland entirely. Well I can now confirm that it's total bollox, the romans definitely made it as far as north and west Iceland and possibly further west. Ireland was thought to have just a few random roman bits from trade but we now know that entire roman legions were roaming the countryside but the Republic of Ireland government has been hiding the artifacts and refusing permission to excavate some probable roman sites near the famous Navan site. Apparently they weren't too impressed with the idea that more foreigners had been wandering over the Irish countryside giving the natives a good thrashing!

I was reading about this last week. Surprised it took so long to get to the board. I nearly started the thread myself.

Its great news! Further proof of the actual intentions of the Romans in our Celtic provinces. Wonderfull stuff.

There's a story on the First Americans thread about the Brazilian (?) government attempting to airbrush Roman finds there out of the picture for political reasons.

Keep us updated on the Irish situation, Wowbagger!