• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

SETI & Anomalous Signals

I've been doing this for two or three years now, it makes a nice screen-saver.

I haven't heard of anyone having any sort of "hit" even one thats terrestrial in origin.

Just recently it has been causing a lot of crashes on my machine, but i think thats just good ol Windows for you.

--kiel--

Well no. 'cos that would mean they'd found an ETC wouldn't it....

Haven't had any problems myself either. (fingers crossed!) Works perfectly. BTW Kiel, you're the only other person I've come across that does it. :)

My computer's only got a tiny brain, so it can't run the SETI stuff. Not that I'm bothered - as I've said elsewhere (ad nauseam), I think the chances of finding ET radio signals are tiny, even assuming 'they' even use radio.

Rynner, it normally runs as your screen saver unless you start it manually, so it's not using processor time while you're working, only when you're not. Cool eh? :)

The machine I use for the net is only a P2 333 and I'm sure most people have more processing power than that..... I think :(

I do it as well, and I know several others who do. Problem is somebody is making a similar program to try and find a cure for cancer. And I can't justify trying to find aliens with such slim chances instead of doing cancer research.

I've been running SETI for just over a year (after eventually upgrading from a 20 MHz 486!), and the only problem has been associated with their limited bandwith - some days all it does is try to download another unit, and try again, and again....

Like rynner, I reckon the chances of finding ET's version of Radio 1 is pretty remote. However, if we don't look, we'll never find the neighbours.
:)

I've stopped running SETI after a little while as it kept failing to load work units after 200. Know idea why, may try again. The cancer one sounds more beneficial to us tho.