• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Surrealism

JamesWhitehead

Piffle Prospector
I was a bit surprised to discover that we don't have any existing thread with the word Surrealism in the title!

Alchemist Adam McLean has posted his 20-video exploration of the subject on Youtube.

He concentrates on paintings.

It is timely, perhaps, in view of all those molten watches and the fact the word was coined in 1917, to see if the old term still has any potency.

Now that any nerd can share her or his randomness on Youtube, is it worth investigating the idea of the surreal afresh?

It has actually morphed into the default mode for a lot of cynical advertising but the idea of gate-keepers policing a "pure" surrealism sounds ridiculous.

As a student, my walls were awash with Dalì and Magritte; now I find them paradoxically reassuring and nostalgic.

Any ideas? :cooll:

Both the term 'surreal' and its proper connotations are topics that have recurrently pestered me in recent years, and I've been mulling them over off and on.

During the recent past I've found myself in a variety of conversations in which the concepts of 'surreal' and 'surrealism' end up as the objects of debate. The most common such situations have arisen with regard to either: (a) debating whether 'surreal*' is an appropriate description for whatever we're discussing (which may not be a work of art); and / or (b) trying to disentangle the boundaries / junctures where 'surrealism' ends and something else (e.g., Dada, psychedelica, postmodern whatever, etc. ...) begins.

No - I can't claim to have distilled any answers from these incidents. All I can claim is that your query is well-founded.

For what it's worth, here are some general comments / observations: