The Brazilian 'Saci'

McAvennie

Justified & Ancient
Reaction score
Saci (pronounced: [sa?si] or [s??si]) is a character commonly considered the best known character in Brazilian folklore. He is a one-legged black or mulatto youngster with holes in the palms of his hands, who smokes a pipe and wears a magical red cap that enables him to disappear and reappear wherever he wishes (usually in the middle of a dust devil). Considered an annoying prankster in most parts of Brazil, and a potentially dangerous and malicious creature in others, he nevertheless grants wishes to anyone who manages to trap him or steal his magic cap.

Now, I don't believe in this kind of thing but I have had some experiences over the past week that make me see how those susceptible to believing in such things could be convinced of their existence. Logically, it is all just coincidence, but...

So, I've been working on a Brazil-based project for a long time and have thus over the past few years become acquainted with certain aspects of the culture. One of which was the 'saci', a mischief-making, one-legged, dark-skinned, red shirt wearing spirit. It was briefly subject to a unsuccessful campaign to make it the mascot of the World Cup. It become something we joked about in the office and then once here I saw a guy busking for money dressed as one. That was that.