• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Unhappy Houses & Odd Happenings

I sometimes idly fantasise about committing a minor offence so I can go to prison and get the university education I never had a chance to have. When they announced this thing about breaking travel rules being a 10 year prison sentence it was my first thought!

I have been saving up to do an OU course for 17 years now, the bastards keep raising the fees.
I've read some retired people are going to uni with a standard student loan as they know their income will never rise above the £21,000 or whatever it is threshold, after which you have to pay it back...

:D

I hope he did. He's not hit the papers again and he'll have been out for quite a while now...
Would it be possible/appropriate to try to contact him again and let him know you still believe in him? Would you be comfortable doing that?
Because of how you described him, it's impossible to not want a happy ending for him.

@Gloucestrian I took my degree part time over six years as a distance learner from the University of Hull a few years ago. It meant travelling to Hull once a week (term time only) for six years, which was a bit of a trek, but I got a loan to cover my costs (which I doubt very much I will EVER earn enough to pay back) and a small grant to cover the cost of books. Because I only had to attend in the evenings, it was possible to do whilst holding down a full time job. Any chance you could do the same from a local university?