• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Dust From The Dawn of Time

dot23

Justified & Ancient
Dust from dawn of time

according to this article suns had been created, burnt out and dipersed within a billion years of the universe's creation. Seeing as our sun is meant to be (correct me if I'm wrong) 4.5 billion years old and has a long time to go until it burns up, where does this fit in with existing theory? Were stars completely different in the early stages of the universe, was time? Answers on a postcard please...

erm... they were very close together and so burnt out faster?

Niles "is from Lambeth and knows Nothing" Calder

I'm no expert ( :D ) but believe it's to do with the size of the star, and how quickly it exhausts its fuel - bigger stars burn hotter and faster, ISTR.

Rynner, HELP!!!! :(

We'll need rynner on this one, but I think you'll find that the !st generation stars are supposed to be entirely Hydrogen and also big because of this. Reactions were fast and hot because there were no impurities to slow the reaction down.

I can't recall exactly but i think we are on generation 4

I have been summoned - Lo! I arrive!

Now, what's all the fuss about? Oh, is that all, I thought it was something serious... :D

Yes, it's primarily to do with mass. Massive stars are much hotter, and so the fusion reactions that keep them going proceed much more quickly, giving them a very short life (relatively speaking).

First generation stars would have been primarily hydrogen and helium (the two elements mostly created in the Big Bang) - they would 'cook' heavier elements as they 'burned up' the hydrogen, and even heavier elements would be formed when the star ended its life in a supernova explosion (which is how large stars die).