• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Gamma Ray Weapons

Oh boy just what we need, more WOMD.

Sounds pretty nasty even by the standards of what we have already, I'm presuming the victim dies of radiation poisoning? That's probably a grosser and more lingering end than most banned chemical agents would afford.

Marie

I'm guessing that the weapon would operate primarily as an explosive. (At least that seems to be the intended use.) I don't think that this is intended to be another "neutron bomb". The gamma rays would just dump their substantial energy into the casing and nearby materials causing rapid heating and explosion.

Still, I'm happy to say that I'm no expert on these kinds of things so I'm willing (and possibly expecting) to stand corrected. :)

This is all just too depressing for words. I like my nuclear weapons large, no, not just large but huge. I want my nuclear weapons to be in the 25-megaton range, weapons so unpleasant that even a gung-ho, functional illiterate like George Bush would have to think twice before wheeling them out.

The last thing I want is some word-smith-lawyer stating that they are “not strictly nuclear” before destroying eight city blocks with them. Fuel-air devices (daisy cutters) are pretty nasty if used in built up areas against soft targets (civilians like you and me), but what they are describing here are weapons in the 100-5000 tons of TNT range, just the type of thing that generals are desperate to get a hold of. A whole new world of destruction and tactics has just become available to the type of people who should not be given scissors let alone mini-nukes.

Not a very scientific contribution to the debate, but, I am just very anti-war/George Bush/Sadam Hussein/Tony Blair right now.