• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Parapsychology Degree: Worth It?

Tell me about it.I am lucky in that I got a good psychology degree (first class and a respected course), but trying to find employment without further education again? Gah...that's why I'm contemplating go back for a doctorate...cor, at my age too (don't ask)

But! I won't be taking a course in Parapsych :lol: I mean, there can't be that many text books can there? I remember seeing a slim volume (can't remember the author) about a year ago, and that was about it in our library... :?

Parapsychology degree?

It may be just me, but I really don't see a lot of ads in the paper for parapsychologists and even less saying "Bachelors or higher required"...

GadaffiDuck said:
Excellent - I'll be interested to see what text books they recommend for your course.

These are the key texts required for the module:

Edge, H., Morris, R.L., Palmer, J., & Rush, J.H. (1986). Foundations of Parapsychology: Exploring the boundaries of human capability. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul

Irwin, H.J. (2004). Introduction to Parapsychology. 4th Edition. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, Inc.

Kurtz, P.(ed.) (1985). The Skeptic's Handbook of Parapsychology. Buffalo, N.Y.: Prometheus Books.

Roberts, R., & Groome, D. (2000). Parapsychology: The science of unusual experience. London: Arnold.

And the lectures are no longer two hours every two weeks, its just one hour every week... plus a one hour seminar (workshop) everey two weeks...

The Irwin book is good, but I haven't been able to get the others yet...

...The book is good because of the range of areas it covers, which are certainly more diverse than I expected. I assumed (or expected) it would ocncern itself mainly with ESp and psychokenesis, however, it does go into detail on other areas such as OBEs and polotergeists.