• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Minor Strangeness (IHTM)

Correct Myth.
Only thing then that I can think of, is the pin in the valve is (somehow) to blame.

If you unscrew the thermostatic top (the part with the numbers on) you'll see a thick pin on the valve itself that moves up and down depending on what setting you put it on.

Attachments

• dra.jpg
    dra.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 5
Only thing then that I can think of, is the pin in the valve is (somehow) to blame.

If you unscrew the thermostatic top (the part with the numbers on) you'll see a thick pin on the valve itself that moves up and down depending on what setting you put it on.
Cheers for that Mr F. I'll let the engineer work that one out. I'm not good with plumbing or Electrical stuff. Even though the old man was a Electrical engineer, it didn't rub off on me I'm afraid :)

My plumber demonstrated that to me. He said that they get stuck eventually as scale builds up. So, you've got to unscrew the top and use something hard to push the pin in until the scale breaks, allowing the spring to return the pin back to position.

My plumber demonstrated that to me. He said that they get stuck eventually as scale builds up. So, you've got to unscrew the top and use something hard to push the pin in until the scale breaks, allowing the spring to return the pin back to position.
That's it.
A spray of WD40 and a gentle tap with a light hammer usually sorts it out.

No, the last advert break was a while before.

Now, I refuse to believe that time stood still for me to read an article about Denisovans. But what an odd psychological quirk, to fold time together like that. Makes me wish I, er, had a time machine to go back and watch it happen.