• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Creation Versus Evolution

A

Anonymous

I was taught the 'accepted' theory of evolution as a kid and carried on believing it through my twenties and pitied people who were so 'close-minded' as to believe in creationism (I was actually chastised by a religious sister when she heard me explaining the Big Bang theory about the creation of the universe to my small son). However. I've just started dipping into this subject and the more I read the more cheated I feel. I thought evolution was an undisputed fact. It clearly isn't.

Have ANY intermediate species been found in the paleontological record?

And is it true that gene mutation (rather than design by cross-breeding for desired effects) is near-enough ALWAYS damaging to the cell rather than accidentally beneficial enough times to support the evolutionary theory?

I'm new to this subject so forgive me for sounding ignorant but I feel like I now need everyone's else's advice - books to read, papers to look up, etc. Cheers.;)

I thought evolution was an undisputed fact. It clearly isn't.

I think evolution is an undisputed fact, what is in dispute is the question of whether it accounts for the full variety of life.

Personally I find it difficult to get to too excited about a theory where vast swathes of assumptions are made on the existence of a single vertebra, or a couple of lizard ribs. I'm not doubting that almost every fossil found supports the theory of evolution as the dominant force in shaping life, but to say this paltry collection of bones actually proves anything suggests that evolutionary theory demands a significantly lower level of proof than any other human discipline.