• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Déjà Vu Phone Call

Cherrybomb

Justified & Ancient
Hi all

I've recently been going through a really tough time dealing with mental health issues, and a lot of memories have been "churned up". One of them is something I'd like to share with you all.

In 2001 I was working part time in Blockbuster video (lucky me!). I'd had a few days off for exams - I was a student nurse at the time, too, and one evening I got a telephone call from my manager at Blockbusters. She was telling me the work rota for the following week & letting me know who the key holders would be, etc. All exciting stuff. The following evening I got another call - from this manager again - she was telling me all the same things. I wasn't paying full attention as we'd gone over this the day before, when she snaps at me that I'm clearly not listening. I explain that she had called me the evening before and we'd gone over this. She stop and sounds rather shocked. She swears blind that she didn't speak to me the day before. All a bit odd. I put it down to her having called and forgotten, something not really like she would do :shock:

The really strange thing is that its only the past couple of very difficult weeks that its been something I'd really thought about.

:?

Sorry you're having a rough time. It's worse when you experience a 'confusion field' -at least that's what I call them.
You see them at checkouts where people just blip out and customer and checkout assistant both fail at the same time (for no particular reason) causing a huge wait for everyone in line.

Find something nicer to dwell on than work stuff. You're not paid enough to worry into the night about their great business goal and it distracts you from completing your own ubermasterplan.

Hi Cherrybomb. :) I'd wondered what happened to you! Hopefully you are doing better now, or will be soon, at least.