• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Jesus Born In The Torres Strait?

songhrati

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
In my job as a journalist I was recently in the Torres Strait of Australia (a remote area located between mainland Australia and Papua New Guinea) and interviewed the Bishop of the Torres Strait. I’m not religious so this may not be out of the ordinary but the Bishop made the statement that “Jesus was born on the shores of the Torres Strait”.

Can someone tell me if it’s normal for Bishops to claim that Jesus was born in places other than Bethlehem or that this is a special case?

FYI – The Bishop is nominally Anglican although I understand that there was a break from the general Anglican synod over some issues and that Christianity in the Torres Strait is a bit of a fusion of Christianity and traditional beliefs.

I've heard of Christ visiting various locations around the world, but as far as I know Bethlehem is pretty much always the point of origin. It would be interesting to hear this bishop's reasoning. There was that bloke in the 19th century (?) who thought the events of the Bible happened in Britain, but he didn't get much support.

songhrati said:
Can someone tell me if it’s normal for Bishops to claim that Jesus was born in places other than Bethlehem or that this is a special case?

In general, I've found that I don't care for bishops, but, no, this bishop's claim is quite unusual.

gncxx said:
I've heard of Christ visiting various locations around the world, but as far as I know Bethlehem is pretty much always the point of origin. It would be interesting to hear this bishop's reasoning. There was that bloke in the 19th century (?) who thought the events of the Bible happened in Britain, but he didn't get much support.