• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Odd Telephonic Coincidences

Forever_S

Gone But Not Forgotten
(ACCOUNT RETIRED)
I work for a communications company (not telling which one) Anyway in my spare time I like to research such things as The order of the Golden Dawn and other occult stuff as well as reading FT.

I thought I'd tell you of a series of odd coincidences I experienced while at work. One day I was researching The Golden Dawn and I received a call from a lady who's name was (no kidding) Dawn Gold. Also another time I was reading about the Goat of Mendez and received a call from someone called George Mendez. Ok not so odd by themselves but here's the real strange thing. I am a sort of amateur writer and I have a character who is a wizard and his name is Elijah DeCourt. Well.. one day I was writing a story after a long time of not writing at all and it was about Elijah and lo and behold at work I got a call from someone called Mrs DeCourt.

Is there some mystical force at work? Is my mind connected to a giant mind-internet so that when I am researching stuff or writing all subjects/contacts etc to do with that automatically are redirected to me?
Whats going on?

Literary synchronicity happens to all readers on a regular basis. It's partly a result of selective attention. Don't waste your time on the trivial name-coincidences, which are distractions that can lead you down convoluted timewasting paths, and go for the thematic resonances, which have the potential to help you enormously.

That reply was almost as strange as the first post Peni! I like the synchronicity idea and have heard/thought about the selective attention of peoples brains.

I would be interested if you could expand on the rest of your comment please, sound fascinating.

Of course I assume Forever_S wont mind my temporary thread hi-jacking!! ;)