• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Spirals, Spirals Everywhere

A

Anonymous

Spirals seem to be cropping up everywhere at the moment.

It is thought that Silbury Hill may have a spiral path leading to the top of it. Spirals occur in ancient cave paintings in many different cultures around the world.

I have been pondering and designing a spiral tattoo for the past two years and the spirals seem to be coming at me from all angles!

It would appear that we have been drawing and using spirals for thousands of years so what is the human fascination with spirals?

What significance do they have?

I wonder if it's anything to do with the fact its the first shape that children learn to draw. My two year old spends hours doing spirals.

Great minds think alike, Emmy, I was going to start a thread on this one!

Do you think there's any connection with mazes, some of them are a sort of complicated spiral shape.

And it's a common doodle shape, as well as a favourite with children (as Blueswidow said). Maybe it's imprinted on the human brain for some reason, but why?

Carole

Many galaxies (including our own) appear as spirals too, although this wasn't seen with the naked eye until the 19 th century.

William Parsons, the 3rd Earl of Rosse, discovered the Whirlpool Galaxy using his 'home-made' 72" reflector. (His home was a castle!) The telescope still exists at Birr Castle in Ireland.

I'm totally chuffed with my new tattoo. Its all healed up and looks smashing, its actually a very simple spiral on my left shoulder. I love it.

Andy Hosk posted this on another thread...

Just remembered another, less well known astronomical spiral, sometimes seen in comets.