• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

The Mighty Rushing Winds

A

Anonymous

Warning: this is not a flatulence thread. Sorry to disappoint :)

A friend who has had two possible encounters with a poltergeist in the same property, described a localised gale force wind which occurred indoors immediately after the main poltergeist activity. These "Mighty Rushing Winds" (as my friend calls them) seemed to swirl around her. They sounded more ferocious than they actually were, although they were still strong enough to blow her hair around. The windows in the room were shut on both occasions and the weather outside the house was calm.

Has anyone come across cases of rushing winds or similar phenomena associated with poltergeist activity ? Or had a similar experience of their own ?

This is a new one to me. But then I'm no expert.

...how strange that I should read two things in the same day that seem remarkably similar, yet I've never heard of anything like them before.

I'm a subscriber to the IGHS newsletter and was reading through some old newsletters today and I found a submitted story in the newsletter from 2nd September 2001 which described much the same thing as you are describing, but this took place outdoors. If you want to read this you can try contacting the webmaster for the IGHS (Dave Oester, I think his name is)...there website is

http://www.ghostweb.com

...and I'm sure he'd be happy to send you this newsletter. If you get stuck though, I'll retype the story for you and get ti over to you.

Sort of. The Discovery Channel (I believe) had actual video
of an investigator entering a basement, only to
find herself (and her camera, fortunately) surrounded by
a fast moving, swirling mist.
It appeared suddenly as they entered the doorway,
and when the camera entered, it looked like
viewing a snow storm through a windshield.
After a few seconds, it simply vanished!