• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

The Mysteriously Reappearing Key

BaronHardacre

Justified & Ancient
I did plan on posting this to Minor Strangeness, but it seems more than minor…

Some weeks ago my car (an aged Fiat Punto. I’m not a proud man…) went in for an MOT, but sadly, due to a list of problems as long as my arm, it never came out. The garage disposed of it, thankfully.

A couple of days later I was at my parents’ home, and came across the spare key for the car I’d left with them (my dad had taken it for its MOT).

I was stood in their kitchen and discussing it with my mother, and we both agreed that there was no need to keep the key given the car was, by then, a cube.
So, I opened the kitchen bin and dropped it in.
Now, I must note, the bin is a large 50 litre one, with a clip down lid, which had only recently had the bag changed. I put my hand into the bin to drop the key.

About half an hour later I went into the kitchen for something and found said key on a work top, about three metres away from, and 6 inches higher than the bin.

I checked with mother to see whether she’d retrieved it for some reason, but she hadn’t, and it would have been difficult for me not to notice her go to the kitchen, as we were both sat in the lounge the whole time (you have to go through the lounge to go into the kitchen, unless you enter the kitchen from the external rear door).

I then spoke to my dad, who’d been out when I threw the key away, but he hadn’t even been in the kitchen (when he’d returned he’d used the front door).

So far, so perplexing.

So I checked the key itself, which had clearly been in the bin as it was wet and stained from a tea bag that had gone in after I’d dropped it in…

I have no clue how the key escaped from its fate, but somehow it did.