• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

The Philosophy Student

A

Anonymous

My degree is in Philosophy and I wish I had a quid for every time someone has related the following story to me:

Philosophy exam question "Is this a question?"
Student answers "Is this an answer?"

And gets full marks.

I always tell people that this is quite obviously a UL but they're always convinced its true. Anyone know the provenance of this?

I don't know where it origanaly came from but I do remember reading something along those lines a decade or more ago in the readers digest, it wasen't funny then either:rolleyes:

Surely the student answering that question with the (a-ha-ha)"is this an answer?" should have recived a big red cross for their eforts because:

1) they haven't answered the question mearly asked another.

2) Gramaticly if a sentence starts with 'is this a' before the subject and ends with a ruddy great question mark there are no contery arguments apart from: life and all experience may be an illusion.

3) He/she was guilty of acting like a smartarse which usuly when marking exam papers ends up with a nice red line put through the prose.

So I'm hazarding a guess that this is one of those ULs that never hapened in reality.

You're right there Oll, this kind of question just wouldn't be asked, and such an answer would result in said smartarse student getting a big fat zero for their trouble.

One of the final exams was a general paper (which I avoided as I took the Dissertation option) which had a list of about 12 words on it, you had to pick one and write about it for 3 hours. The words were concepts such as Beauty, Truth, Time etc.

I suppose to the uninitiated this seems pretty esoteric, even pretentious in itself, writing pages and pages about the nature of reality and so on - but we know different, don't we Forteans?

The version that I heard went along the lines of