• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.
My first thought was that hundreds of reported sightings (never mind unreported sightings) must be indicative of something, but then I thought with the ubiquity of tolerably-high quality cameras the fact that nobody has turned up a conclusive image may itself be indicative of the fact that there are no specimens to be seen.

I've no experience with this field: are any mainstream zoological groups actively involved in searching for the species.

Yes Andy. I do give this guy the benefit of the doubt that he was genuinely mistaken at the start. But he's been contacted since by an 'expert', and that 'expert' has been down to review the area and footage. Now, can you guess who that 'expert' is? Can you? But still, that's no reflection on Paul Day, he may well have no idea who he's dealing with.

My first thought was that hundreds of reported sightings (never mind unreported sightings) must be indicative of something, but then I thought with the ubiquity of tolerably-high quality cameras the fact that nobody has turned up a conclusive image may itself be indicative of the fact that there are no specimens to be seen.

I've no experience with this field: are any mainstream zoological groups actively involved in searching for the species.

Thing is with thylacines, they look an awful lot like dogs. And tiger sightings don't tend to be that accurate in terms of what a tiger actually looked like. Anyway, there are a few sightings which seem to be very hard to explain, though knowing what I do about the tiger in their final years I don't believe it's possible they survived beyond 1950.

But there are others who know the subject better than me, who take a different view. I will just say that in private a couple of the most prominent people in the field have views which may surprise you.