• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Nijinsky's Slow Vaulting

GNC

King-Sized Canary
Mentioned in passing in the current FT's Fortean Library section, apparently the ballet dancer Nijinsky could "slow vault", which means he could leap gracefully in the air and descend to earth slower than he went up the way. A web search reveals no mention of this anywhere, couldn't get a proper hit. I'm no expert in ballet, so does anyone else know if it is possible? Have any other ballet dancers achieved it?

Mentioned in passing in the current FT's Fortean Library section, apparently the ballet dancer Nijinsky could "slow vault", which means he could leap gracefully in the air and descend to earth slower than he went up the way. A web search reveals no mention of this anywhere, couldn't get a proper hit. I'm no expert in ballet, so does anyone else know if it is possible? Have any other ballet dancers achieved it?
Wayne Sleep?

I've done this thousands of times - and I can hover a bit too if I really concentrate. Once I've figured out how to do it when I'm awake I'll be laughing.

Flippancy aside, I found reading your post quite thrilling as your description perfectly captures (for me) that feeling of suddenly remembering how to fly in dreams.

I suspect Nijinsky's secret may have been to cleverly make it look as though he was returning to Earth slowly. Or some sort of gentle mass hypnosis of the audience, perhaps induced by the music.

I've done this thousands of times - and I can hover a bit too if I really concentrate. Once I've figured out how to do it when I'm awake I'll be laughing.
I can do it if I've eaten enough beans. Full of beans, me!

Nijinsky could "slow vault", which means he could leap gracefully in the air and descend to earth slower than he went up the way