• We have updated the guidelines regarding posting political content: please see the stickied thread on Website Issues.

Weird Knock At The Door

Mikefule

Justified & Ancient
This morning I was woken by a loud knock on the door: a firm and distinctive syncopated pattern of 3 raps. I'm a musician and dancer and I have a good sense of rhythm and I could reproduce that rhythm now.

I immediately thought I must have slept in. We are waiting for a couple of Amazon deliveries so I rushed downstairs barely dressed, unlocked the door and opened it. There was no one there and no parcel on the doorstep I checked the other door and there was no one, and no parcel. I then checked the time on the clock on the cooker: roughly 01:30: far too early for a delivery. I looked out of the window in case there was a police car on the road or a burglar lurking by the garage door, then I went back to bed.

Late morning today, suddenly the same loud knock at the door. I'd swear it was the same pattern. This time, it was the Amazon delivery man. He remarked grumpily to my wife that the address shown on the parcel was wrong and he'd struggled to find us. (A common spelling mistake of the house name, one letter different near the end of the word.)

I know certain patterns of knock are common — traditional, even — but I would almost be prepared to swear that it was exactly the same knock by the same person, but an Amazon delivery driver wouldn't be knocking at 1:30 in the morning, would he?

My wife remembers me getting up, going downstairs and opening the door, but says she did not hear the knock.

My wife remembers me getting up, going downstairs and opening the door, but says she did not hear the knock.
I reckon you dreamed it. People can hear all sorts of mad sounds when they're asleep or dropping off.

The 'exploding head' is one of them, which I have had now and then.